Tuesday, August 12, 2008

2008 Polaris Music Prize update

The 2008 Polaris Music Prize Short List

Black Mountain
Black Mountain - In The Future
Basia Bulat
Basia Bulat - Oh, My Darling
Caribou - Andorra
Kathleen Edwards
Kathleen Edwards - Asking For Flowers
Holy Fuck
Holy Fuck - LP (Toronto, ON)
Plants and Animals
Plants and Animals – Parc Avenue
Shad – The Old Prince
Stars – In Our Bedroom After The War
Two Hours Traffic
Two Hours Traffic – Little Jabs
The Weakerthans
The Weakerthans – Reunion Tour

Win a trip for you and five friends to the Polaris Music Prize Gala!

The Polaris gala is by invite only, unless you happen to win the first ever Polaris Music Prize gala contest! Rogers continues to get you in by offering one lucky winner and 5 friends 6 seats at the gala. Travel, accommodations and transportation to and from the event is included. Nokia, as our official handset partner, will also outfit you and your friends with the latest phones to help capture and communicate this once in a lifetime experience! There also secondary prizes of Rogers Wireless Box Office gift credits, and copies of last year’s limited edition Polaris gala programme. To enter, go to polarismusicprize.ca/contest. It ends August 25 so don’t sleep on this one!

Free Short List Music!

Here at Polaris our whole reason for existing is to turn you and your ears on to our Short List of nominated records. In 2008 it’s even easier to get a free taste of this year’s Short List.

Myspace free music downloads are now available. Check myspace.ca/polarismusicprize on a weekly basis to see which Short List artist is offering up a free download. You can also preview tracks from each record on our Myspace site.

The Grand Jury

We are pleased to announce the selection of the 11 people who will determine the winner of the 2008 Polaris Prize. They are:

Mike Bell – Calgary Herald (Calgary)
Denise Benson – Eye Weekly (Toronto)
Evelyn Cote – Ici (MontrĂ©al)
Lana Gay – CBC Radio 3 (Vancouver)
Kevin Kelley – Newfoundland Herald (St. John’s)
Joshua Ostroff – AOL Canada (Toronto)
James Stewart Reaney – London Free Press (London)
Li Robbins – CBC Radio/Globe And Mail (Toronto)
Hannah Simone – MuchMusic (Toronto)
Darryl Sterdan – Winnipeg Sun (Winnipeg)
Frank Yang – Chromewaves (Toronto)

These 11 were selected from the 178 member jury that selected the Long List and Short List. They will decide the winner during the 2008 Polaris gala, September 29 in Toronto at the Phoenix Concert Theatre. While the gathered invitees are enjoying the live performances of some of the nominees the Grand Jury will be in an adjacent room, arguing and fretting over who get the $20,000 Prize. No one in the room will know who’s won until it’s announced at the end of the evening, not even the jury themselves!

No comments:

Use this banner code to link to our Lyricist product Free shipping on most orders over $49