Wednesday, September 05, 2007

SOCAN's ECHO Songwriting Prize

The 2nd ECHO Songwriting Prize is being presented by SOCAN. It is designed to identify what’s next and what’s best in current independent music. The prize honours some of the most innovative, creative and artistic songs created in the past year by emerging songwriters in Canada. Five songs, determined by a panel of respected, knowledgeable tastemakers in the music community, are posted for you to listen to and vote on. The writer(s) of the winning song will receive a $5,000 CDN cash prize. Be sure to scroll down the page to listen to all five songs before you vote. You can vote for your favourite once a day, from now until the deadline of 4:59 p.m. on September 28, 2007.

The 5 nominated ECHO Songwriting Prize songs are:

Devastation, performed by the Besnard Lakes
Composed by: Olga Goreas, Jace Lasek, Stephen Raegele, Nicole Lizee, Kevin Laing, Jeremiah Bullied and Jonathan Cummins

Doppelspiel, performed by Feuermusik
Composed by: Jeremy Strachan and David Weinkauf

Graveyard, performed by Chad VanGaalen
Composed by: Chad VanGaalen

Pedal Pusher, performed by Abdominal
Composed by: Andrew Bernstein and Rodney Pleasant

Scarecrow, performed by Nathan
Composed by: Keri Latimer

Hmm... I didn't make the short list this year... maybe next year...

No comments:

Use this banner code to link to our Lyricist product Free shipping on most orders over $49